top of page
Post: Blog2 Post
  • Writer's pictureCassie

My New Favorite Book: Lessons in Chemistry

I have never had the experience of saying "this is my favorite book" while still reading a book for the first time... until now.

To me, a favorite book has always been something that meant a lot to me in childhood, or my favorite book I've read recently. But I honestly think this is in my top 3 of all time. Here's my review:


Book: Lessons in Chemistry

Author: Bonnie Garmus

Release Date: April 5, 2022

Summary: Elizabeth Zott is a chemist. At least, she was a chemist, until an unforeseen turn of events landed her as a single mother and the host of a wildly popular, if unconventional, cooking show. As a female scientist and an unmarried (never-been-married) single mother in 1950s--60s California, Elizabeth has never quite fit into society's expectations, and she doesn't particularly want to. With the help of her five-year-old daughter, a stressed TV producer, her helpful neighbor, her obstetrician, a terrible reverend, and Six-Thirty the dog, Elizabeth does her best to turn the patriarchy on its head and becomes an inspiration to many along the way.


My Thoughts: Not only is this my new favorite book, but Elizabeth Zott is one of my new favorite characters. She is unapologetically herself in everything she does, refuses to take no for an answer (unless that's the logical response), and approaches each new challenge with a determination and aplomb that many can only aspire to. She is intelligent, driven, and a feminist before her time. And she isn't the only wonderful character in this book. Somehow, Bonnie Garmus managed to fill this book with characters that made me laugh and gave me hope for the future, despite also filling this book with situations and characters that filled me with indignation and gave me the desire to punch someone (looking at you, Donetti). Elizabeth faces challenge after challenge and confronts sexism and misogyny in every aspect of her life. Garmus handles these situations with grace and heart, and then she does an excellent job of introducing Elizabeth to characters who aren't awful, just when it seems like everyone is. Mad, Elizabeth's daughter, is growing up to be as intelligent and self-assured as her mom, and their dog has his own voice and important role throughout the story. Calvin, Harriett, Walter, Reverend Wakely, and Dr. Mason fill out a beautifully quirky ensemble cast that perfectly confirms the fact that family can be chosen.

This book elicits the full gamut of emotions — it's tragic at times, and it's also filled with joy and hope. Elizabeth's show and her effect on the "average housewives" of America are inspirational. She shows the men "in charge" and the women watching that women of all backgrounds and in all areas of life, whether they run their homes or a chemistry lab, want and deserve to be taken seriously. Elizabeth's consistency and perseverance are a sight to behold, and the humor with which Garmus approaches her story rounds everything out perfectly. This book is unique, witty, and totally unexpected, and I cannot recommend it enough.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page